



PROCLAMATION



WHEREAS, In 1976, Jack Burkham, Jr. along with other community leaders, decided to start the process of developing the community's own volunteer fire department as a means to provide protection as well as lower insurance premiums for landowners; and

WHEREAS, Jack Burkham, Larry Fite, Gary Henderson, Wyman Darden and Freddy Chamness were known as the first volunteers of the Arbala Volunteer Fire Department with Jack's Automotive Garage has its first establishment; and

WHEREAS, In 1978 and 1979, construction of Arbala's first station was decided and completed adjacent to the community center to house a donated fire truck; and

WHEREAS, In 1980, Chief Burkham addressed the Hopkins County court concerning a grass truck; and

WHEREAS, The Hopkins County court approved the purchase of a fully furnished grass truck; and

WHEREAS, A second bay was built to house the new 1980 Dodge; and

WHEREAS, Tuffy Burkham modified a 1956 Ford by adding a pump and 2-55 gallon drums to serve as an additional apparatus to fight grass fires; and

WHEREAS, In 2005 the department made the decision to build a larger station that would accommodate the growing needs of the community and surrounding areas. Stan and Janie Burkham donated two acres of land for this project. The Arbala VFD at this time housed a fire engine, a tanker truck, and two brush trucks; and

WHEREAS, The 1980 – 2004 records reflect the names of the chiefs who have served the Arbala community as Jack Burkham, Wyman Darden, Autry Darden, JW Ragan, Jeff Strickland; and

WHEREAS, At present, the Arbala Volunteer Fire Department has twenty-nine members who continue to serve and protect the Arbala community and Hopkins County - Chief Brian Fairchild, Autry Darden, Clay Bartley, Brennam Kearns, Drew Fisher, Dave Funderburk, Christy Fairchild, Keith Lewis, Justin Bartley, Brennan Murray, Jeff Bloodgood, Grant Sharp, JW Ragan, Kevin Sharp, Tristen Fairchild, River Thomas, Jose Lozano, Blake Neal, Barbara Bloodgood, Maggie Mae Sherrow, Karen Lozano, Sheila Funderburk, Amy Henderson, Wesley Patrick, Brian Patrick, Jerry Patton Horton, Ron Reed, Sydnee Neal and Jose Rodriguez; and

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that the Hopkins County Commissioners Court urges all citizens to applaud the outstanding efforts of the Arbala Volunteer Fire Department, to recognize the dedication in their perseverance to provide protection for each citizen and their property and, offer heartfelt appreciation for the servanthood of each one.

APPROVED AND ADOPTED by the Hopkins County Commissioners Court at the regularly scheduled meeting on the <u>10th</u> day of <u>February</u>, <u>2020</u>.

Robert Newsom, Hopkins County Judge

Mickey Barker, Commissioner, Pct. 1

Wade Bartley, Commissioner, Pct. 3

Greg Anglin, Commissioner, Pct. 2

Joe Price, Commissioner, Pct. 4

Andy Endsley, Hopkins County Fire Chief